Resizing component not working

Hello,
I am a novice with SketchUp. I have imported the Formufit PVC components into SketchUp Make 2017 and have tried the following 2 methods to change the length of a pipe.

A. Scaling to exact measurement:
1. Click end scaling grip and move
2. Type exact measurement e.g. 51.5mm
3. Press Enter

B. Scaling to line:
1. Draw line from opposite end of component to required length
2. Click end scaling grip and move to end of line
3. Press Enter

The first method is recommended in many online articles and the second method is recommended by Formufit. Neither of the above methods work as in both instances the pipe is scaled to a larger size when I press Enter.
I have been trying to solve this issue for the last 3 weeks and it is getting very frustrating as I would like to complete a project for my young son.
Assistance will be greatly appreciated.

It seems the formufit pipes have a restriction (makes sense) to only be able to scale along the length. (DC)

In the first method, when scaling, the amount typed in is a “scale factor”, not a measurement. So if you want your pipe 50cm long and type 50 it will make it 50 x as long, not 50 cm.

The other method with the tape measure tool allows you to have an exact measurement typed and it will leave a mark at that position. Then when scaling you would inference that mark with the green scaling dot so the pipe will be scaled to that exact spot and as such its length.

So I’m not sure why the second method is not working for you?

Thanks for your video Steve.

I tried using the tape measure method again but when I scale and then click on the grey guide point at the end of the line, the pipe scales to a longer length. I am wondering if it is because I am trying to make the pipe shorten rather than longer.