Resizing and Realigning components in a model

Bed.skp (133.7 KB)
Hi,

This is my first attempt at a Sketchup design – a bed with drawers built from 2 “carcasses” connected by a 2x4 support frame. Only partially designed so far but I’ve already found a couple of problems.

First, the width of each carcass is 24” which makes for extremely inefficient cutting from a 4x8 sheet when allowing for saw kerf.

Secondly, I’ve misaligned the 2 end panels so that they’re 1/16” “into” the top panel of each carcass. (I’m snapping to 1/16”).

Of course I could easily explode the whole thing, resize and realign the components, but I’m wondering if there’s a better way.

I’d also like to play with making the bed shorter and taller, while looking at the cutlist to optimize the number of sheets of 4 x 8 sheets. I’ve played with stretch for this purpose, but that also stretches the thickness of the tops and bottoms.

I’m thinking there might be a way of attaching the separators to the tops and bottoms, then resizing the separators to make the bed shorter and taller but can’t find how to do that. And if this is possible, maybe it will solve the first 2 problems I have also?

Thanks in advance.

Ron

For starters, turn off length snapping. Experience has shown that it more often creates issues than doing what you expected. Set the units precision high so that small mis-sizing is revealed by the “~” on a dimension and rely on a combination of typing exact sizes and using inference to previous parts to get sizes correct.

Since you (correctly) used components for similar parts, there are several attacks you can use to change the size of a part. None of them require exploding anything.