Remove Relationships between Scenes

Hi. I’m new to Sketchup, and am currently running the 30-day trial. I’ve taken on a Sketchup file that I need to amend - it has layers of the build set across different scenes, that eventually make up a complete image. I’ve started working through the Sketchup Fundamentals tutorials, so have the basic understanding of how the programme works. I’m adding new parts onto drawings on one scene and they are updating on other ‘layers’ on the other scenes, when I don’t want it to. I’ve tried Googling, but not knowing the correct terminology doesn’t help in my search! How do I amend the settings between scenes so that items added to a later scene don’t add onto the previous ones; if I duplicate the scene to build the next stage of the ‘journey’ I’d like to then add to it, but those changes not impact the previous? Any help is appreciated.

From your description it sounds like you need a little more learning about the use of Tags (they used to be called layers but aren’t anymore) to control visibility of objects (groups and components) in the scenes. It would be helpful to see your model and how it is organized to be able to give you specific advice.

Extension | SketchUp Extension Warehouse Take a look at this extension. Haven’t used it myself but looks a bit faster than hiding and updating scenes manually. +1 for @DaveR’s note to make sure your geometry is grouped and tagged so you can control visibility that way.

The basic workflow is to add a new scene for each stage of construction, draw the added objects as groups or components and assign them a tag that is visible only on that scene.

The main impediment is that there is no native way to add a new tag (formerly called layer) on one scene without it also being visible on all other scenes. However, there are extensions that can make new tags visible only on the current scene, for example Extension | SketchUp Extension Warehouse.

1 Like