Recessed Hole Help

Forgive me but this is my first day using SketchUp. I’m trying to make a simple shower door stop. I’ve got it completed except for the hole where the mounting screw goes. The hole itself is one size and there’s a recess at the top of the hole that the larger head of the screw fits in. Could someone point me in the right direction to accomplish this? Thx

We can help you but the exact steps to do what you want depend a lot on the model. Could you upload the SKP file so we can see what you’ve done so far? Ues the 7th button from the left in the row above where you type you message on the forum.

Thx DaveR. I’ve attached the SKP file. Bare in mind this is my very first attempt at this. If you see any other problems feel free to tell me as I need all the help I can get. LOL

shower_stop.skp (1.2 MB)

I see a number of issues. There are reversed faces and nothing solid which is a requirement for printing.

Before going on, what are the dimensions for the counterbored hole? Does the head of the screw go in between the points?

The screw head is 8mm in diameter, screw itself is 4.18mm. Yes it goes in the center of the round boss in the middle of the shower bumper. Do you have any tutorials on designing 3D printed stuff?

I don’t have any specifically on that but there are a number of them out there. Youtube would be a good place to start. Although I can’t do it at the moment, I could do a live demo. We’d have to set up a time.

As for the counterbored hole, draw a circle slightly larger than the head, use Push/Pull to push it down and then in the bottom of the recess, draw a hole for the body of the screw. Push that the rest of the way through.

In order to do that on your model, you would need to explode your components and groups.

Take a look at my version of it.
shower_stop.skp (96.9 KB)

By the way, the blue faces in your screen shot are reversed. All exposed faces should be white.