Push/Pull cannot cut through object

Hello dream team,

I’m fairly new to Sktechup (although previos experience with other 3d modelling) and seem to run in to the same problem over and over again. After three days of searching for a solution both here in the forum and on Google I really need some guidance…

I’m trying to sketch a house with both interior and exterior. When pushing a rectanle shape (window) through a wall, the action sometimes does not cut through completely, but leaves a thin solid shape left in the hole. The rectangle is pushed the same distance as the wall is thick though. I’ve also tried to pull to the surface on the other side of the wall leaving the same bad result. Obviously I’ve done something wrong and most likely something stupidly easy, but cannot seem to find a difference in my actions when it works and when it doesn’t. As far as I can see all shapes are planar.

. First I drew the shape of the ground floor and drew the walls onto that (2d top view). Then I pulled the walls up followed by the push action to cut out windows. All help or guidance is much appreciated, thanks! In the attached drawing the orange wall is the cause of three nights bad sleep…Sketch gone bad.skp (2.0 MB)

The first thing you need to do is read this…
Does SketchUp Support Layers? — SketchUp Help

Next
There are 105 Materials and 23 Styles in the model file.
Learn to Purge the file … Window > Model Info > Statistics > Purge Unused

Yes, it all looks good!

Aidan Chopra explains the way things work…

2 Likes

As well as reiterating everything that @Geo said…
Look at your Model Info > Units settings,
Un-check the ‘enable length snapping’ option - which is also set at 1.00m increments !
This is what is causing issues on some walls etc when PushPulling etc.
It will make your modeling a more pleasurable experience…
I also suggest that setting it to 3 d.p. would be more logical, e.g. 1.000m, as you will sometimes work to parts of a cm, e.g. 2.5cm >>> 0.025m

2 Likes