Please Please help me! Solid Issues

Hello All,

I am fairly new to Sketch up… had some fairly good results going into VR and printing through cura! I am very much a novice though so would really appreciate some advice if possible.

i have been trying to create a small model car at keyring size. When i say I have spent 4 days solid on it I mean it. It has sent me to the forum for my first post. I must have 100 different versions saved. I have tried repairing in mesh mixer and microsoft too.

I basicly want a shell of the outside of the car in low detail so i can print a small model. I have tried to hollow the shape/ make it solid. I then need to export as stl or obj. I have used soild inspector and clean up 3. Im sure someone could do this in about 5mins.

Would anyone be willing to look at the file/s for me and explain how they would approach the task. Id be willing to send the a drink for your time.

thanks so much!

You haven’t really said what the actual problem is, or perhaps I just haven’t understood it.

You do need to upload the file if you want specific advice.

1 Like

What file? you need to attach the model file to your post for us to look at it.

My guess is that you work in such a small scale that you run into all sorts of problems with no faces formed. Work at enlarged scale and resize in the end.

1 Like

bentley10.skp (6.3 MB)

Hi I have put one of the files here.

I wanted to give it as a gift, I could have bought it for a 5er but it wouldn’t be the same. When i come to print i get holes in the model, but it is reasonable.

i just want a basic shell of this so i can print and infill. I can stop crying myself to sleep then! or maybe there is a more elegant solution that you guys can think of?

thanks

Thats not an easy and fast job. You must separate all parts in single groups.
Then you must make them solid with plugins like JointPushPull or by adding of meshes.