New Sketchup User & 3D Printer...Print Issues

Hi everyone, I’m new to both SketchUp and 3D printing.

First off let me say this forum has a lot of very valuable information that has helped me, I’ve also been studying other sites and video tutorials. I can’t figure out my problem though so wanted to get some input from you all on an exact piece I am working on.

I am making a small threaded insert for a car part that threads into a tank and the other end has a hose connected, it doesn’t contain fluids or high temps. Some of the air may have oil condensation so it can’t be too thin and vent openly.

In SketchUp, here is what I have:

Now first things first the wall thickness is very thin. I may have to start over because I can’t figure out a good way to increase it. If I click on the outer circle of the top in the photo above I can use the offset tool to add some thickness but I haven’t done a test print on it.

I did do a test print as the model sits above. I had some issues. For one it’s very thin as assumed. The top piece broke off with very little pressure and didn’t seem really seated right anyway. Inside of the bolt head is hollow as well as the threaded area but the underside is printed solid.

Any input on things I should be trying to make a more solid and 3D printer ready model? I have tried some extensions such as Solid Inspector and it tells me I have 30 internal face edges and 3 surface borders.

Thank you all, I look forward to learning more!

-Simon

Edit: I tried to post more photos that would better show things but I’m limited to one photo right now.

Until the model reports as a solid in SketchUp’s entity info window, you are likely to have difficulties with 3D printing. You didn’t say - did you correct the flaws that Solid Inspector pointed out? These will very likely produce issues such as you describe. If you can’t figure out how to fix them, please upload your model. It isn’t possible to tell where they are from a screenshot.