Please help..New to SketchUp and so lost

Hi everyone,

I’m new to Sketchup and having trouble doing the simplest things. Things will work and then they won’t. My problem now is not being able to see anything less than a few inches…like, if I want to set something to 1/4" it shows up as a tiny dot and I have to zoom in so much (to where I can’t even work with axis lines) just to see anything at all.

I’m going out of my mind. Would so appreciate any help.

Thanks!

J

Maybe you could share the SketchUp file so we can see what you are seeing?

Ok…let me try… might take a few minutes—I’m super new

Save the file and then drag the .skp file into a reply window.

That’s what I’m seeing after entering a value of .25"

Well, that’s not the .skp file but you do just need to zoom in on what you’ve drawn. The figure is there to give you an idea of the scale of things.

Best practice when you are modeling is to start on or near the origin and work from there. If you want you can delete the figure although you might find it easiest to leave her there until you get your model started. I always start my models on the origin and work from there as the axis lines are good references.

What is it you are planning to model?

I’m sorry…I actually don’t know how to create that file-- I’m on a Mac if that helps. I’m sure it’s possible but I’m not familiar with doing it but there’s a screen shot of what my .25" line looks like. As you can see, I’ve zoomed in really far.

This happens even when i start at an origin point, too.

File>save

I don’t see anything wrong in your file except that the little short edges you’ve drawn are a long way from the origin relative to their size.

Here I’ve drawn two edges at 0.25 in. long near the origin. I have a small model in for reference.

Hmm, let me try again…

Okay…here’s another one where I entered in the .25" value but it shows up as a bigger value.