Opacity by tag (layer)

It would be great to be able to change the opacity of everything on a tag. Here’s how I’d use it: I’m an architect & urbanist who regularly builds streetscapes. Trees on the streetscape, when viewed straight-on from across the street, can be as much as 50% opaque and you can see both the tree and the building behind it just fine. But if you’re looking down the street, where tree stacks on tree, then the buildings are entirely hidden because of the many layers of trees. And this varies with the angle at which you’re looking. So if there was opacity control for tags, I’d set the scene, then just play with the opacity slider for the street trees tag until it looked just right.

I’m certain there are countless other uses for such a feature. Has anyone requested something like this before? How might this feature get serious consideration?

6 Likes

Not at my computer right now but (I might be mistaking this with some other technique) this can be done… :thinking:

1 Like

I don’t know how it might work for you but what I was thinking of when I replied earlier was that in SketchUp you can set the colour and opacity of a tag and then have a style that had the property Color by Tag set.

As Dave suggests maybe combine this with stacked viewports…

While the ‘color by tag’ can handle opacity, you will loose the textures. What has been requested many times is a way to apply a style per object.
Style per tag would be nice, too

3 Likes

Style per tag would be incredibly useful. You could hare a monochrome context and a textured building or a sketchy addition to a more life-like current situation.

8 Likes