One surface looks "solid" the other one does not

Hi guys

My first post here, I am a beginner please excuse my ignorance if this questions sounds stupid
I am creating a 3D representation of my house

Above I have created a duct for my AC. There you can see two objects which I created the same way but they look different. They were created using “Follow me” ( I drew a circle and from that circle I drew a line toward where I wanted the duct to go) the second object (the one to the right) does not have a smooth surface and I don’t uderstand why

What is it that I am missing?

thanks
MiniMe

THe reason is because when you created the elbow, the disk was made of an exploded circle. When you made the straight tube, the disk was made from a Circle where the edge segments were welded and softened.

The fix is to open the Soften Edges dialog from the Window menu, select the elbow, and adjust the Angle slider.

Without knowing the details of the process you followed, I can’t say exactly what you might have done wrong. But, in any case, the second object has not been smoothed. Select it, right-click, and choose Soften/Smooth Edges. You may need to adjust the settings in the Soften Edges window to get the desired amount of smoothing.

It’s not a big deal. It just has to do with the way SU treats the endpoints between the edge segments on the outline of a profile you want to extrude.

If the outline consists of arcs, curves, or circles (as identified by Entity Info), the longitudinal edges between the faces of the resulting extrusion will be created as softened/smoothed, so you don’t see them. However, if the profile consists of individual edges butted end-to-end (again, you can check this in Entity Info), the longitudinal edges will be visible as lines. No matter, you can easily soften or unsoften edges any time you want.