Newbie Can't Edit one element of a dimension?

Total newbie issue, and I’m stumped on how to do this. I’m running into an issue when I draw a rectangle. I can type a new dimension in the “measurements” dialog…but I have to enter both dimensions…I cannot edit just one existing dimension in the dialog box. This isn’t a problem when I’m entering 2",4" but when I need to change [~2 29/64", ~4 1/8] to [3",~4 1/8] I can’t highlight the ~2 29/64 and change just that value.

I’m running SU2017 on Windows 10…and on my wife’s Mac running SU2017 I can do this in that dialog box. I’m almost sure there is a simple technique I’m missing…I just learned in the value of the ‘triple-click’ in the forum so I’m hoping there’s an easy answer.

Thanks in advance, MDB

Though it looks like you can do that on Mac (entering the measurements box ) ,you’re not really inside it, it is just a flickering cursor.
The way to use the measurement box (VCB) is to activate a tool, make an initial Click, release the button, drag the mouse in a direction (do not hold the button down!), let go of the mouse and start typing. (Watch the text for the VCB) If it says length, type one length. If it says dimensions (Rectangle) you can type two dimensions, seperated by the delimeter for your country (, or;) You can also type one dimension and let the position of the cursor determine the other. (Eg if you type ,4 the first dimension is determined by the position of the cursor, the last is 4)
Changes can be made while you are still in the tools action.
You never ‘enter’ the VCB, it just gets highlighted when you are in a active action

On Windows, clicking in the Measurements box just doesn’t work. All you can do is simply start typing while you are defining the rectangle. Since you can’t click in the box, you can’t change just one dimension. You have to enter both.

actually, you can ‘enter’ the box on a mac…

fractional inches can be an issue, but in sensible metric units it all works…

john

2 Likes