Setting dimensions of objects

I’m new to this. I’ve just started tutorials (the screens do not seem to be the same as the tutorial but I can live with that). On Tutorial 2, in the beginning, there is a Dimension dialog where you are supposed to be able to edit dimensions. My dialog does not allow any editing. It’s read-only. I cannot seem to get it to take numbers.

Unfortunately, it’s impossible to continue until this (and other dialogs that affect drawings) work properly. Can anyone assist in fixing this?

The screens are different because many, perhaps most, of the tutorials were made with earlier versions of SketchUp. And many tutorials show their author’s customization of the user interface - without explaining how to set your customization to match!

As far as the measurements box goes - don’t try to click in it! When you’re doing an action that allows entry of measurements, just start the action to indicate direction, then just type your measurements!

It isn’t always advisable to edit dimensions, but if you want to show a value that’s different from the actual distance represented by the dimension, you can double click it, then overtype what is there. But be aware that will disconnect the value from any change in the referenced geometry to which it refers.

If you want to add text to the dimensioned length, but keep the actual length value connected to the geometric distance and any subsequent changes in it, replace it by <> (that’s open angle bracket, close angle bracket) plus whatever text you want to add.

If it won’t open for editing by a double click, you have a problem with your installation of SU.

Try re-running the installer (exe file on Windows), but R-click on the file, and choose Run as Administrator, then Repair, and try again.

Best wishes for your learning curve.

PS.

Did you mean instead, the dialogue to customise dimensions in Window/Model info? This one, in SU 2017?