New user first problem

Hi there,

I am totally new to sketchup and not even in the designing business at all. So I am a real amateur!
Initially I downloaded sketchup to create a design for part I need for a motorbike.

Got pretty far but now bump into some problems and after searching unsuccessfully for a couple of hours it seems to be time to drop the question here.
Is there a way to show the design in this forum so I can point out the problem?

Cheers

When you’re typing your message here you will see some icons above the text input area. The drive with arrow pointing up icon lets you choose files to upload, you could either upload an image or even the SKP file, so we can try it out.

Mount Version 1.skp (505.6 KB)

Great thanks!
So i first drew a base plate and created some holes.
Somewhere in the process the surface of the plate vanished. At first I did not notice so i have no Idea what caused it.
How can I re-create the surface again.

Now i just drew the whole thing again but I guess there must be an easier way to do so.

Draw over an edge on the top and bottom faces.This will form the main volume.
Now select all and use Intersect with selection.
The circle-edges will cut the new surfaces and then you can PushPull the circles to make the two holes.

You have some issues with missing facets.
At this very small size any FollowMe [or similar operations] can result in missing facets when tiny edges < 1/1000" result.
Scale everything up x100, do the processing and Scale back down.
Tiny geometry cannot be created, but it can exist after scaling processes etc…

I set the Units to show in inches, switched of distance-snapping, and in passing I also Reversed the faces of the U shape which were created ‘backwards’, I finally reset View > Hidden Geometry ON.