New to SketchUp any words of wisdom

Hi,

I just recently downloaded SketchUp Pro, I have been using the program for a few days now. Are there any extensions I should get? Any advice?

I am a college student. I will be using the program fo site modeling and to model building layouts.

Welcome Evelyn. There are loads of extensions out there but before you get any of them I would suggest you get really familiar with the native tools. There is a whole that can be done without adding any extensions. Even when you do start adding extensions into your workflow it’s a good idea to understand what is going on with SketchUp so you can figure if the extension is doing what you need it to do.

Avoid falling into the trap of collecting extensions just to have extensions. They can just get in the way. If you find you are wanting to do something specific, feel free to start a new thread and ask. It might be that it’ll be an extension you need or maybe just a different approach with the native tools.

If you haven’t done it yet, you should go through the Fundamentals at https://learn.sketchup.com/

Thanks. Can I ask a question? I am currently creating a model and I am trying to download a tree from the 3D warehouse but it’s so small. The tree does not appear on the model but it actually is. Why are the models small?

There are two probable causes. The first is that your model is giant and not drawn at full size. The other is that the author of the tree component modeled it as very tiny. Can you share the title of the component so I can try inserting it into SketchUp myself?

I have tried downloading other models from the warehouse and they all come out tiny. Is there way I can adjust the size of the tree so that it is bigger when I download it onto my model? The tree is by Firdes K.