New Computer (Win-10-Pro) & SU Pro Classic (perpetual) version: 21.1.332

To all,

RE: New Computer (Win-10-Pro) & SU Pro Classic (perpetual) version: 21.1.332

I’ve just had a new PC & the chap who looks after all the IT wizardry for me has copied all my old hard drive data & programmes over from my old PC to this new PC so I can continue working. I’m not into all the technical aspects to how this is done, but its something called ‘mirror-imaging’.

Athough I’ve not plugged it in yet, some of the licensed software programmes I have require de-activating before you can use it on another PC. (will only be using one PC at any one time). Therefore, can someone confirm what the procedure is with my SU Pro.

I’m not an expert in SketchUp perpetual licensing, but I think the ideal approach is to run SketchUp on the old computer, deactivate the license, then exit SketchUp. On the new computer, run SketchUp, enter the license number (I don’t remember where you do that, but SketchUp will probably prompt you for it), and then you should be good to go.

If you are unable to deactivate the license on the old computer, it will consume one of three activations allowed on the typical single-user license. In some case Trimble folks here on the forum may be able to perform a remote deactivation on behalf of the user.

Hi Tom,

Thanks for the advice on this, I was going to plug the new-PC in & crack on with work & leave the old-PC as an emrgency backup. I’ve actually got three PC’s, a really-old-PC which I’m working on now (not SU-projects) as my old-PC case fan broke prior to receiving the new-PC.

As you note, when you can’t undertake a deactivation from your PC for whatever reason, you can do this online over the internet, which is exactly what I did on other programmes. I’ve just read up on this on SU-Help on the internet & it states: