Need help with scenes

I’m not an expert SketchUp Pro user and am having trouble with a simple task. I’ve built a model of a piece of furniture. I use layers to control visibility of items that are connected to each other. But I want to create a view of each component so I can print out a blueprint for the shop. I recall that Scenes can be helpful for this, but each time a I modify one scene, it changes all the other scenes. Is there a way to create 10 different scenes from one model that are each unique views of the model?

Can you share your SKP file so we can see what you’ve got. I’m sure we can get you sorted.

If you are moving the components in your model around, those changes are going to show in every scene. You can make copies of the components away from the assembled model and use those for the scenes to show the individual parts.

As an example here’s a view of the overall model space for a table I created for a plan.

There are 16 scenes showing different parts of the project. For example the aprons. The ones in the scene are shown above the assembled copy of the table.

And then those viewports are used to create the various viewports in LayOut where dimensions, labels and other text are added.

Crib rev2.skp (249.2 KB)
This is a work in progress. I recall seeing a tutorial awhile ago where you could get separate views in LayOut but it seems amazing to me that you can’t do that in SketchUp. Any advice is appreciated though.

You can get separate views in SketchUp. Those are called scenes.

The first thing I see in your model is incorrect use of layers. Layer 0 should ALWAYS be left as the active layer. All edges and faces should be created and left on Layer 0 and only components, groups, and dimensions should get assigned other layers.

I’ll repair your model and upload the result.