Need advice/ help with the modelling of a golf cart

Hi, I’m new to SketchUp and I’m having issues with making my model a solid object. After drawing the outline of a golf cart in 2D with reference to the right view, I pulled it outwards and made it a group. However, I soon realised that it wasn’t a solid object when looking at the entity info and I couldn’t proceed to use solid tools from there.

Since I’m already asking for help with regards to the golf cart, I figured that I should ask for advice too while I’m at it. I plan to model the golf cart by drawing its 2D top view and front view and trim the model from there. So, is there a better way to go about doing so or should I resume with my way?

Thanks in advance!

golf_cart_no_wheels.skp (462.5 KB)

There is an internal face that is stopping it being a solid.
Internal face
As for your modelling method, it is a very common way to work with this sort of thing.

1 Like

Thanks for pointing it out :smiley:

When extruding the top view of the golf cart, I once again find myself not having a solid object. Is there any plugin I can use to aid me in this?

golf_cart_no_wheels.skp (438.0 KB)

Yes, look for solid inspector plugin in extension warehouse

After installing solid inspector 2, I used it to fix the reverse face issue but I’m still not able to make it a solid object, is this due to my nested instances?

golf_cart_no_wheels.skp (456.1 KB)

You have an extra face in the group that is causing it not to be a solid, xray mode makes it difficult to see.
Extra face

With this solid object issue whenever I pull/push, I’m starting to wonder if my fundamentals are wrong. Is there a better and more consistent way of pulling/pushing to get a solid object? As of right now I have been creating a plane to draw on and then extruding from there (like seen in the picture below)