Material texture filetype conversion (TGA to PNG)

Hi! I’m a beginner, so…

Is there a way to change the extension of all textures in the model, for example, i need to change them from TGA to PNG, because when I open them in Photoshop TGA opens as JPG and I lose not only quality but also the alpha channel:)

Is there a plugin or built-in ability to see a list of all the materials involved in the model?

Extension Warehouse search with term material

The first one, Material Replacer, seems rather promising?

I’d second “material replacer”, I find I use it on most jobs. It doesn’t work from the materials list but by selecting a material in the model space with an eye dropper and then selecting the material to replace it. It will update all instances of that material through the model. In the example I am changing one texture that is a jpg to a png.

material replacer

Open the Materials inspector panel (it’s likely in the Default Tray unless you’ve moved it to a custom tray.)

Above the list you’ll see a little house icon. That is the “In Model” collection button. It switches to view the materials that are in the model’s materials collection. (The other views are viewing collection folders on disk.)

All the model resource collection inspectors work like this regarding the “house” button.

I have hundreds of textures in the model, they are all in tga. I need to change all of them to PNG extension. This is very inconvenient and takes a very long time by loading and replacing with new textures. So these plugins will not help.

Thanks! At least I can replace the textures manually through this option …