Making the ground

10am Mon 16.skp (6.9 MB)

I am very new at this but I am trying to make the ground around my building for a uni assignment.

I drew a big rectangle for the line work to sit on. Then a smaller rectangle to mark the “edges” of my model. So technically there should be 2 things for it to sit on.

I have drawn in most of the roads and a railway track

The top left hand corner of my wont form a bounded shape.
The roads are clearly forming bounded shapes (hence the blue traffic islands)

But I can’t add a texture to the roads and I cant make the top left hand corner so that I can add textures etc.

Any suggestions on what I am doing wrong or how to fix whatever isnt working? I have started again with the ground 3 times now. This is the closest I have gotten to getting it right.

Thanks in advance.

If you’re new to SketchUp be sure to check out our Fundamentals Course over at SketchUp Campus - https://learn.sketchup.com/track/sketchup-fundamentals-practice-playground

Also, since you’re working on a large site design project, you’ll find some good info in our Landscape Track…more specifically the lessons on cleaning up linework and making faces - https://learn.sketchup.com/course/creating-base-model/cad-clean-making-faces, and subsequently, the next lesson on working with groups - https://learn.sketchup.com/course/creating-base-model/paint-group-layer-material

Now to answer your question:

I started by grouping and moving the inside of the road (median, etc) outside of the site so that I can deal with just bounding edges only. They may be hard to see but look close and you can see some stray edges and edge gaps. When you’re manually drawing multiple lines on top of other lines and surfaces that are ungrouped, this invites the possibility for duplicate, stray or edges that may look like they form a closed boundary but are not touching.