Trouble with faces

Hi everyone,

I’m a novice and I started using Sketchup for a site planning project but I have some trouble with selecting the street and sidewalk face. When I click on it the whole surface get selected, I think it’s some parallel/planar lines mistake but I spent almost two hours and can’t figure out how to solve it.
Can somebody please help me?

Model uploaded here: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1JFXUS4b1mruoHJPePrVPCE7DAwKzsMDN

Thanks!

I’ve had a quick look at your model.

There are a number of things contributing to your problem.

1. You have misunderstood the use of layers in SU. Unlike AutoCad, for example, or Photoshop, Layers in SU do NOT separate geometry. You have faces and edges with layers assigned. ALWAYS (with rare exceptions you don’t need to worry about now) keep Layer0 as the Active layer (radio button on the left of it checked - as you have it at the moment) in the Layers window. Assign layers ONLY to Groups and Components, or non-geometrical objects like dimensions, text etc, and always make sure your geometry (faces and edges) is ALL on Layer0.

2. You have many reversed faces (showing grey-blue) in your buildings or building outlines.

3. You have quite a number of multiple edges where there should be only one. I’ve fixed all the ones I could see. This is usually the result of trying several times to make a face close, especially when drawing with the Line tool - use the Rectangle or Arc/Pie or Circle tools to ensure you make a face, where you can do that. If you have to use the line tool for an irregular building, draw a large (usually horizontal) rectangle first, and make sure the edges you draw are on the face - watch for the On Face inference tooltip.