Making axial assemblies?

Hi,

I am brand new to SketchUp but have previous experience with solid modeling. I am trying to make a transmission assembly of multiple components for the first time. I am finding it difficult to manipulate and move parts into the correct position. First I assume that the Import option is correct for adding parts to an assembly? 2nd the orbit function doesn’t seem to work well is it possible to reposition the orbit rotation point or origin? 3rd I can’t seem to align parts axially very well is there a good tutorial for assemblies and aligning parts?

Thanks

What does this mean? You can certainly add components to an assembly.

The orbit tool orbits the camera about the model. The center of the orbit is located on the part of the model where the cursor is located when you click to start orbiting.

If you set up your components so their insertion points are on the axial centerline, you will find it easier to position them. The component’s origin is its insertion point. It is also possible to position components with just the Move tool.

Since you are new to SketchUp, you should take some time to learn how to use the Move tool and navigation tools.

1 Like

Thanks for responding to my post. I went through the 4 tutorials on the website. For some reason the mouse does not control the viewing controls like it should. The only thing it can do is zoom with the scroll wheel, the other functions don’t work (pan, orbit) do you know how I can fix this ? Its a std. Logitech design that normally works with everything fine.

Is there a way to limit selection of points to certain categories? When many parts and features are close together and also aligned similarly it has been difficult to get it to select the desired point for alignment?

Thanks

Look at the setting for the center mouse button in the Logitech settings panel… Set it to middle button.

I don’t understand what you’re asking for.