Make, Pro or Something Else

I am just learning to use Sketchup, but I am not sure that it will do what I am looking for. I tired Googling it, but I must not be using the right terms.

I am looking to make pieces (pipe tees, elbows, electric valves, hose…) and combine them into a model. Then print out a drawing or schematic of the model with arrows to each part that referenced a bill of materials. I was also able to display some components as a wireframe so you could see the layout behind it.

In the past I thought myself how to use Solidworks, and it worked very well for this. I know longer have access to it Solidworks.

Will a Make or Pro do this, or should I keep looking?

TIA

Roger

Make should do well for all the modeling. Doing your drawings with callouts and BOM can be done with Make, but is FAR easier with Pro since Pro includes Layout - which really should be seen as the essential companion to Make when you need decent drawings without excessive effort.

Feature wise? SU Make should suffice, but Pro would add the ability to create Dynamic Components (Make include non-dynamic component creation) which might be useful to combine multiple sizes of fittings into a single component.

Suggestion: Start with PRO - and it’s 30 day free trial. Play with using Layout for documents vs doing it all within Sketchup. That will let you see the difference - and whether or not the price of PRO will be worth it for you.

One caveat: If you intend ANY commercial use you’ll have to go Pro. This includes in house use for any business.

if you need volume modeling in the MCAD area incl. model to sheet, bill of material and exchange data via 3D CAD formats as STEP, SAT or IGES etc. check ViaCAD.