Mac - what mouse is required

I’m a beginner. I have a MacAir laptop. In viewing YouTube training videos, a mouse with a scroll wheel is required.
Is this true? And if so, could you please offer suggested models? Thank you.

I survive perfectly well with just my MacBook Pro trackpad. You can do the mousewheel scroll by using two fingers on your trackpad.

There are some conveniences to using a multi button mouse, but it isn’t needed.

I definitely think it is worthwhile to buy any two button mouse with a scroll wheel. You can pick one up at any office supply store.

I use a Logitech MX Anywhere mouse. Always reliable, and using a laptop it’s useful that it works on just about any surface. Even my duvet cover!

1 Like

Skethup can be used with a trackpad or Magic Mouse, but I would VERY STRONGLY recommend that you buy a mouse with a scroll wheel.

I use an iMac, with a Logitech M525 mouse, but any mouse with a smooth-scrolling wheel will make moving around the model SO much faster - hold down the middle/scroll button to Orbit, and roll wheel in and out to Zoom. Shift + middle button to Pan. (But I find zooming out and in again usually faster than panning. The zoom centres around the mouse pointer.)

The orbit shortcut would be useful, but scrolling works fine on trackpad. It should also work on Magic Mouse, but nowhere near as comfortably as with Magic Trackpad.

I have a Magic Trackpad, but was never able to get it to work well with SU, even with the extra software ?Magic Prefs? is it? It seems no longer to be installed, so I’m not even quite sure of the name.

What setting do you use, Colin, with Magic Trackpad>?

I have a MBP Retina. I find the trackpad to be adequate for casual modeling, but I switch to a wireless mouse for serious work. I find it to be faster and more accurate. I think any mouse with a center scroll wheel is fine. Choose based on feel in your hand and durability.