Layout model disappears when I update the model reference

Hi all,
I have been using sketchup for a couple of years now and have not run into this problem yet. I have a sketchup drawing with many scenes and layers and had imported this into layout to turn the drawing into printable plans. I had to put it aside for a few months and just got back to the project.
I made a couple of changes to the sketchup model, updated the scene and saved the file. When I went back to layout and updated the model reference to reflect the changes all of the drawings in layout disappear and the text and labels get scattered throughout the model. I then tried to relink the model but nothing happens. So I am not sure what to do, hoping to find some answer here.
Miter Saw Station layout.layout (2.8 MB)
wood storage cab.skp (3.6 MB)

I don’t see any missing model views in your LO file.
I see a few viewports that show the scenes as modified which is not a good thing. I also notice that dimensions for the parts aren’t connected to the model. I wonder if they ever were.

For the way you are showing the parts, it would be wise to set the camera for the scene to Parallel Projection and a standard view. It would also be smarter to leave the model axes in their default orientation and align the parts with them so the standard views are usable. Here I’ve reset the axes for the scene called miter saw table parts. The laid out parts are at an angle and the assembled view of the model is below the ground plane.
Screenshot - 1_20_2020 , 12_53_23 PM

Out of curiosity, do you really want your customers to print all that gray background color?

I didn’t save the layout file after it disappeared, these are the original. if I open the layout file and select update model reference that’s when everything disappears.