Layout Keeps Crashing

Hi there guys,

I’ve just joined the forum. So, firstly, hey! I’ve been using sketchup and it’s add-ons for about 5 months now and absolutely love it.

One minor problem that keeps recurring. LAYOUT KEEPS CRASHING ON ME!

It happens when I try and choose a different scene of a model, or re-scale the model. They seem to be the main 2. It has also happened when I’ve been copying models or even saving the file.

It’s now impeding me doing work. I have a project due tomorrow and I can’t continue using Layout so a fast response/solution/any general help would be greatly appreciated.

Kind regards and many many many thanks in advance,

Joe

Welcome Joe.

The first question that comes to mind is, when you installed SketchUp and LayOut, did you do so correctly? That is, did you right click on the installer and choose Run as administrator? If not, or if you don’t remember, do that and choose the Repair option.

When it crashes, is there a Bug Splat? If so, are you sending them in?

Are your graphics drivers up to date?

It would be very helpful in diagnosing the problem if we could see the LayOut file. Could you share it? If it’s too large to upload here, you could upload to Drop Box and share the link. If you don’t want to share it publicly, send it to mevia a private message by clicking on my name and then “Message”.

Hi Dave,

I can’t see an option to run as administrator, I have done the repair as you said. I have been sending in the bug splats. I must have sent in 10+ over the last few days!

Would it be worthwhile uninstalling (again) and reinstalling and doing it as an administrator as you said?

All drivers are up to date. I have just double checked and am still getting the same problem!

I’m having trouble uploading the file and don’t use dropbox. I’ll try and send it to you privately to see if that works.

Thanks for your help!
Kind regards,

Joe