Layout - dimensions not gripping to model

Hello everyone,

My name is Irma. I have to layout files that seem to have the same setting for the dims (Auto Scale) however in one file I am unable to grip to the model hence it only give me real page dimensions… I have checked the setting for both files and can’t find the difference. I could obviously copy the content to the file that works but would like to learn why it’s not gripping to the model.

Thank you very much in advance!

Irma

Can you share the LO file so we can see what you’ve got? Are you trying to dimension to a section cut?

FIREPLACE JOINERY.layout (2.1 MB)

Many thanks for your prompt reply DaveR!

Please let me know if you can see the Sketchup model inserted… I’m new to layout so I’m not sure if I have the embed it somehow…

Yes. I see the SketchUp file. There are no dimensions in it. where are you trying to attach dimensions that doesn’t work?

Hi Dave,

Thank you!
I’m trying to add any dimension to the model, let’s say the width of the doors with the chevron pattern, or the width of the open shelves… It’s just not gripping to anything but the Titleblock…

Thanks

I see. There are some corners like at the tops of the doors which are hidden behind other edges or in some cases even faces and that makes it difficult for LO’s dimensioning tool to snap to them. You can snap to the edges themselves. You can do a few things to make dimensioning this thing easier.

1. In SketchUp set up the scene with the camera set to Parallel Projection and the stard Front view.
  2. In LayOut, turn off Grid Snapping in the Arrange menu.
  3. Create a separate layer for dimensions in the LO file and lock the layer the viewport is on.
  4. Feel free to zoom in on the areas where you are placing dimensions.

By the way, you’ll see that dimensions can easily be snapped to the bottom corners of the doors because those points are exposed in the model. Of course that’s not really the cleanest place to add the dimensions.