Layers in model & layout

A frustrating day with something that I am sure must be oh so simple.
I have made a simple model with 1 cylinder & one rectangular solid (a box)
I made each item a group
I create 2 new layers, 1 named cylinder & 1 named box
cylinder is then put on the cylinder layer & the box on box layer, all pretty basic
Turning off each layer hides the items as expected.
Then I import the model to a layout & hope to find that I can have 2 pages, one to show the cylinder only & one the box only & I cannot seem to do this.
The layers created in the model don’t seem to appear in the layout
I have searched the myriad of tutorials but cannot find an answer
I am very new to SU but quite experienced with other solid modelling & CAD systems
Could someone please enlighten me ?
Thanks
Bob

Layers in SU don’t equate to pages in Layout. . . But ‘Scenes’ DO (sort of). . . See: >View >Animation >Add Scene

If you were to Create a New Scene in SU, to represent each viewport that you want to see in Layout. . . Then from within Layout you could insert your SketchUp file, and right click on top of the model’s viewport. That will result in a context menu popping up, from which you can go down to the ‘Scenes’ options, and choose one of the scenes which you set up in SU.

One benefit of that approach is that after you setup your first page in Layout, and insert a SU model into it — From there you can just make a copy of that page. Then on the second page change the scene setting to the other views you want to use. . . this saves having to insert another instance of the SU model onto page two, or subsequent pages. and also helps with layout continuity between the pages (which you may, or may not, want to have).

A word of caution about working with Layers in SU: