I've been getting this warning for a while

I’ve not fixed it, I’m sure I can, but why all of a sudden am I getting this when I open either v. 18 or v. 19?
I’m just curious.

Whats%20this

And why is this happening now?

Have you looked at the paths in Preferences>Files? Have you checked to see that those paths actually lead somewhere?

I have and they are all highlighted in red. But they used to be fine. My real question is why did this change?
They are still valid file locations.

Good question. What happens if you edit them (the ones that can be edited) to the same paths?

Actually I haven’t bothered to try, other than the message I got, they all still seem to be working. That’s what is confusing.

Sounds like SketchUp has gotten confused and maybe you just need to tell it what’s what.

Perhaps that’s the solution.
I was sort of wondering if anyone else had experienced this. Because it seems odd that this all of a sudden happened. To be fair I saw the notification a month of so ago on 2018, but as it didn’t seem to have any impact, I ignored it.

I guess I haven’t been that lucky. I don’t recall seeing any other reports of it, either.

Now you have! LOL
Thanks Dave.

1 Like

One thing that we have seem is where a previous user of Windows has their name inserted where yours should be.

Editing or deleting %LocalAppData%\SketchUp\SketchUp 2019\SketchUp\PrivatePreferences.json can fix that.

So you have seen this before? Could you give me a more “advanced” course on how I would do that? At least how to edit it, I would not feel at ease just deleting that string.
Thank you colin.

Copy this much of the path I gave:

%LocalAppData%\SketchUp\SketchUp 2019\SketchUp\

and paste it into the Windows File Explorer. That will take you to the folder where the preferences file is. Assuming you haven’t set up any custom file paths you could just quit SketchUp, go into that folder, rename PrivatePreference.josn to be something else, and then open SketchUp again. That should recreate the file with the default settings.

1 Like

Thanks Colin, I’ll give that a shot tomorrow. Should I do some sort of backup, just in case?

If you renamed the file and things aren’t perfectly good, you could delete the new file and rename the old one back again.

If it comes to editing you would open the file with Notepad or Wordpad, look at the “File Locations”: part of the text. Five of the lines in there are in the Users folder. Any of the five that don’t show your name but do show someone else’s name, change the name part to be your name.

1 Like

‘One should not mess with other one’s private johnsons…’

(Learned the hard way…etc😂)

The same goes for the .json files

We got this message all the time, when resetting the machines in our training facility’s, after changing the location were these settings are stored.
It used to be only in registry, now there is three…

One could argue that the location of the file preferences should be in private, if you have a personal license, but what if it is a network license?

1 Like