Is there a Plugin to created a shortcut to quickly purge all layers / tags back to Layer 0 / Untagged?

(I’m new to the recent change of naming from layers to tags so by habit for this post, I will refer to them as layers!)

Part of my daily workflow involves importing 2D cad files (plans / elevations /sections etc.) and I typically delete all the layers, moving all the content to Layer 0 in the process. I then group and layer this up accordingly and take it into my main model (so as not to infest my main model layering with random layers from 3rd parties).

Although this is a relatively quick procedure, it would be great if someone knew of an existing plugin that would turn this into an automated process with either a simple keyboard shortcut to open a window that started the purge and meant that I didn’t have to select hundreds of layers scrolling down the stack and then clicking delete and confirming the move of geometry to Layer 0…

#1stworldproblem

I often do this several times every day and it just feels like one of those things that must have a plugin associated with it (that I haven’t been able to find)…

One that purges (deletes) all layers back to layer 0 keeping contents…

Cheers in advanced :slight_smile:

TIG’s Default Layer Geometry will parse through a model and assign Layer 0/ Untagged to all edges and faces. You can then select all of the Layers/Tags except Layer 0/ Untagged and delete them in one step without an extension.

Thom Thom’s CleanUp3 can also do what TIG’s Default Layer Geometry does.

1 Like

Hi DaveR, thank you for your suggestions, both great plugins, however they do not achieve what I needed. They appear only to affect and alter the loose geometry and leave the groups and components on the original layer, meaning that when I purge, the layer list is not completely emptied back to just layer 0.

These two plugins tackle it from one angle, what I need to happen is essentially an automated process of: