Interior Design Student - Mac or PC?

This isn’t totally sketch up related but maybe there is a designer out there who can help. I’m in my 2nd year of school for my BID and I have been using both a Mac laptop and PC desktop. I am buying a new laptop that can hopefully support everything so I can be more mobile with all of my courses. I prefer Macs but I feel like a PC is a smarter choice to run all of the programs - Cad, Sketch up, V-ray, Photoshop, Indesign, Adobe Illustrator, Powerpoint, Word, Excel……etc. - that I use on a regular basis. I would greatly any advice in making the right choice. Thank you in advance.

These days, choosing between Mac or PC is just a matter of personal preference because both OSs can run software from the other OS on a virtual machine (like using Bootcamp on Mac to run Excel & Word). There definitely are pros and cons to each OS, but people do amazing stuff on all the major OSs (Windows, Mac, Linux). I’d recommend just getting whatever you prefer using.

The hardware specs are pretty important though. Make sure you understand the difference between SSD & SATA storage, what RAM is for, etc. Choosing different hardware specs could mean the difference between your computer taking 5 minutes to turn on & taking 16 seconds to turn on, influences render times, etc. Oh, and I’d recommend watching some reviews on YouTube before buying anything because often they have some pretty valuable insights.

Personally, I prefer Macs, but I used some PCs in college and they worked fine too. I just like the Mac aesthetics because they’re nice to look at.

That is probably true. As an aside, V-ray needs a Nvidia graphics card to support GPU rendering, so that part only works on a PC.

I have understood that the new non-Intel Macs no longer support Bootcamp.

1 Like