In SU 2016, where do I tell my computer to put the .rbz file that I just downloaded?

I’m new to 2016, have downloaded an update of Vertex Tools from ThomThom’s website (couldn’t just get the “Update” version to work in the Extension Warehouse, tried that), but my computer asks me where to put the .rbz file. I have routed it to SketchUp 2016, but unfortunately I don’t see a folder like SketchUp 2015/Plugins.

Of course, I might be missing it here.

If you downloaded the RBZ file, just save it into your Downloads folder or to the Desktop. Then open Sketchup and go to the Window menu. Select Preferences>Extensions and click the Install Extension button. Navigate to where you saved the RBZ file, select it and then Open and Yes, OK, etc. to install it.

I personally have created a sub-folder of my “Downloads” folder named “INSTALL”, and beneath that a specific folder for SketchUp Plugins. (Beneath that I have them separated into author sub-folders.)

So when I right-click a download link, and choose “Save link as…” (Chrome) MS Windows remembers the last folder used for .RBZ files, saved in your registry under MRU (most recently used,) and opens the file dialog there. IF not, the “Downloads” folder is usually one of the favorite places, in the navigation pane, so it’s easy to get to.

If you don’t wish to keep them around long, just in the “Downloads” folder is fine, because it’s easy to clean out.

Thank you! That was a whole heck of a lot easier than I had imagined it would be…I checked the “Downloads” and it was already there, my guess is that’s where the computer stores things like that. It took me less than a minute to select Preferences>Extensions and click the “Install Extension” button, navigate to the file in the Downloads box (where it automatically saves things like this too) select it, Open and Yes, Ok, etc. to install it. Thank you very, very much! :slight_smile: