Importing photos or scanned images

I’m aware that Sketchup will allow you to import floor plans to draw from.
Can I import a photo of a medical device to draw from?

Thanks in advance!

Mark

Sure, you can import an image of a medical device to work from. depending on what it is and the view you have of it, you might be able to trace it or maybe you can just stand the image up in the background for reference so you can see it. I often do that so I don’t have to change my focus.

what kind of medical device are you drawing?

Hi Dave-
I have not seen the devices yet. I have an order to render several lab testing devices.
I’m new to SketchUp. In the past I’ve relied on Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop.
I like SketchUp because you can manipulate your rendering and change the viewing angle with ease.

Mark

Well, it’ll help to get the some basic dimensions, at least. If the photographs are suitable you might be able to use Match Photo (check out the Knowledge Base for info on that) but otherwise, as I said, you could at least put the image up in the background to use it as reference. I frequently do the latter when the image isn’t good enough for Match Photo when it isn’t worth the set up time to use that method. You can a little about that here.

Thanks Dave!
Great information. I guess this method would work just as well with, a robotic arm with cylinder shaped hydraulics.

Mark

Sure it would work. It also depends upon what you need for details.

Thanks Dave-

SketchUp is like any other software when you new and trying to learn it…frustrating.

Mark

Hi Dave-

I have a question regarding SketchUp plugins. Do you have any suggestions as to which ones are the best?

Thanks!
Mark