Imported trees do not cast shadows

I am very new to this (about 1 month) and this is my first post. I am working on a large file, about 100 sq km of terrain with a large image projected onto it. All the buildings in the model cast shadows. When I import a tree it does not cast a shadow. When I copy and paste the same tree into a new file it works, it casts a shadow. If I go back to the large file and explode the image of the tree it casts a shadow. The terrain itself does not cast a shadow but several saved versions ago it did. Is there a setting somewhere that I have missed, or is it a problem with the file size? I am using Su 17 on a new mac with the latest OS.

There is a Shadows toolbar, and a Shadows inspector panel.
On them is a toggle button to toggle shadows on/off.
(This toggle also appears on the View menu.)

In addition, each entity has two shadow attributes:

• Casts Shadows
  • Receives Shadows

You check or uncheck these via the Entity Info inspector panel
(which most people keep open most of the time.)

One reason perhaps that your tree does not cast shadows (when it is individually set to do so,) is that youā€™ve inserted it into a group or component that has itā€™s cast shadows attribute switched off. The parent obect will override the childrenā€™s shadows settings.

Thank you for the quick response. The terrain and the trees are set to On Faces and On Ground in the shadow settings dialogue box. The Entity info box shows they are set to Cast and Receive shadows. The buildings on the terrain are casting shadows, just not the trees. I have placed the trees on a separate plane and they donā€™t work, if I copy the plane and the trees to a new doc, they work!

Is it possible to share your project so forum members can look at it more closely? Screenshots are a good step; uploading the skp file gives you the most chance of a solution.