Imported terrain from Google Earth not matching when exported

Hi, I am very new to this program and still am using my 30 day trial of pro. I am having issues with the exporting my information back to google earth.

If I drape a shape (i.e. a road) onto the imported terrain level from google earth (within sketchup) and then export the shape back to google earth, the shape doesn’t overlay onto google earth the way it does in sketch up. I have been having to offset the shape vertically anywhere from 4 to 10 feet in order to actually see it in google earth.

Is there a setting to sync up the coordinates that I am not seeing?

Thanks

1 Like

The terrain you’ve imported isn’t coming from Google Earth.

The terrain scaling may be different in GE than the data you are importing.

So the Geo-location grab image isn’t from GE? Is there a way to correct the scaling problem?

You’d need to talk to the Google Earth folks.

Google Earth folks…erm, really? doesn’t sound that easy to reach them…
the geo location grabs I am taking do not produce accurate geo that corresponds to the terrain as you see in real life or in Google Earth itself.

Easy or not, you need to talk to the people at the source of the data. What is the source for the imported data? If you are referring to recent imports, it may not be Google at all. Even if it is Google, you need to talk to them. SketchUp only displays the data you import.

Hi Dave, thanks a lot for your reply. I am doing the steps, geo location and selecting google data. I can see the Google watermark all over it. The maps are coming in but then when I choose “show terrain”, unfortunately the resulting geo is not accurate enough and doesn’t match what is actually displayed on google earth itself. And actually it doesn’t look like the mountains I am selecting. I’ve sent them some feedback but I doubt they will help as they have nothing to do with Sketchup. Thanks anyway.