Identifying a particular component within a large model

I have a large model with many components that I’ve been working on for a few years. As I’ve honed my SU skills, I have evolved the way I use components, and I’m generally cleaning up and improving the model over time. When I view the statistics for this model, I see many components just listed as “Component #…” because I didn’t have the good sense to give them a meaningful name when I created them. Is there any way that I can easily find out which component is represented by a particular number?

Assuming the component isn’t nested inside other components, you could go to the In Model Components panel, right click on the component and choose Select Instances or you could go to Outliner and select the component(s) and see them selected in your model.
select

select2

1 Like

So this is generally helpful, but I’m a little confused. For a given component, I must first select one instance of it in the model before right-clicking to see “select instances” in the components tray (otherwise “select instances” is greyed out. But for some components, it may show some instances, but not all. These are components I have verified by noting they are all selected when I edit one–so why do some get missed? And lastly, “select instances” remains greyed out for other components no matter what I do. These are components that may be nested within a group, but I have made sure that they are not nested within another components. So I’m not understanding something in the way this works.

You shouldn’t have to do that. I didn’t have to do that in my GIFs.

It won’t work to select them in the Components panel if the components are nested in groups or other components and if you aren’t in the same context as they are.

It it possible they aren’t used in the model at all? Try purging unused first.