How to use SketchUp online? Campervan interior. Newbie

I know this is a dumb question or set of questions but this is my first time trying to use SketchUp free online. I am trying to build some cabinets for my campervan and finding it very hard. I have 25 years of graphic design but 0 hours with SketchUp

So I downloaded some simple PDF instructions on how to build it. This came with the SketchUp. But as you can imagine, there isn’t a button that does it for me :slight_smile: Basically I thought I could easily change dimensions and draw sizes. So whilst useful, it is no good to me.

Where should I start? I have noticed that there is extensions that can build cabinet, but I take that I cannot use extensions via the free online version

How do I grab an entity, like a drawer, move it and the make it smaller?
How would I make the cabinet to the same size to fit the drawer? Is there a function that remembers the overall size?
What version should I buy, If I have too?
I am only doing the one thing and not a pro so I want it to be cheapish and be able to use extensions

Sorry newbie help needed

Thanks

Sorry but extensions don’t work with the web versions. You would have to buy SU Pro. How about this concept… spend some time learning how to use the software ? You should look at the online courses here….

Thanks I will take a look. But not being a carpenter puts me at a disadvantage. I need to download other peoples models and edit them. I need cutting lists etc

Thanks

You’ll need to understand the use of the tools to properly edit a model drawn by someone else. You might want to do some online searching to find drawings of cabinets similar to what you want. It will make editing easier if you have a basic idea of how cabinets are built.

1 Like