How to use paint bucket tool

Hi,
I’m new to SU. I’ve created a 2D floor plan of a house (attached), but I’m having trouble filling in the walls black. The paint bucket only works where it is blue…and I don’t know how to make other parts of the plan blue again so I can paint them. I created this on the web version and then opened it up through the SU Pro Version when I bought the licence - no change.
If anyone can help, I’d be most obliged.
Kind regards, cja
Module 5 Lighting .skp (2.8 MB)

No need to. The ‘Paint Bucket’ works on faces, blue (back) and white (front), or any color. Or on entire objects (groups or components).

Hmm. Any idea why its not working then? when I hover over the blue part the paint bucket has a little circle at the end of the paint splash, but where it isn’t blue the circle disappears and I can’t colour the area.

You can only apply paint to faces, or groups, or component instances that contain faces. Only the white and blue parts of your model are faces. The ones that show the background color are where faces failed to form for one reason or another. There are various reasons why faces may fail to form, for example gaps in the tentative outline of the face, edges that are not coplanar. Sometimes you can cause SketchUp to fill a face by tracing one of the existing edges. Other times you have to find and correct the flaw.

Edit: due to some of the flaws, I’m guessing you imported things like the sofa and 48" table from CAD. For example, the lines representing the seats of the chairs at the table don’t meet the table, nor do they have their own line to close the end, so they won’t form faces. This flaw is common when a model is imported from CAD because CAD has real, exact circles whereas SketchUp approximates circles with polygons. Edges that met a circle in CAD may fall short of or pass through SketchUp’s polygon approximation.