How to use follow me FAST to make volume lines for cables

H
In in my big concept I have a paisley shapes VALET station. For it to be viable in a possible very hot climates I make the 8m roof overhang in aluminum and plexi glass.
I have a hard time to create steel cables to help to hold up the edges
The bigger building is a simulation of a local fire and emergency station.
How can I make a circle stick to the beginning of a line to use follow me
my circle either becomes an oval on flat surface
I try use a circle away from the line but somehow it never wants to follow the lines
they could also be metal struts
I am not a civil engineer would really welcome any input on how to help uphold
without having tall vertical posts
I call the station GOLDEN LEAF so I am trying to get organic curves shapes
one the other hand I had ideas of using a metal shaped steel struts
but don’t know if that would stay under the traction
Like a pre shaped rebar …although I thought it may be a bit much
Thanks for any input

Follow me starts by projecting the profile onto a plane perpendicular to the first segment of the path. So, unless it was drawn perpendicular to that segment, a circular profile will become an oval.

1 Like
  1. Draw a pie arc starting from the middle of the first segment.
  2. When clicking on the point hold down the mouse and point the axis to the endpoint of the segment.
  3. Release the button.
  4. Draw a full circle with a big diameter and draw your profile in that face.
  5. If you want you can draw the cable profile directly.

Note: Don’t use more than 4 segments on the pie arc/circle for a cable, unless it’s very big. Complex cables are heavy on sketchup, especially if they are all over the place.

To perform the follow me operation:

1. Select the wire curve first.
  2. Hit follow me tool button.
  3. Click the profile face and it’s off.
  4. If something fails, scale the profile and curve 10x.
  5. If something fails scale it again 10x more.
1 Like