How to keep sketchup synchronized

I hope this is the right forum. I think I have a fairly simple question. Please point me to any tutorials that might be available.
I am relatively new to SketchUp, and I am trying to use it personally to plan a kitchen upgrade. I am using the software on two computers (Win8.1 and Win10), one a desktop, one a laptop. I am struggling with keeping the information synchronized. For example:
I downloaded a “cabinet” from the warehouse on one computer and defined a “color” that I want to apply to the cabinet. Then I saved the model, went to the other computer, and thought that when I open the model, it will have the same information. Not so. The color was not there. How do I transfer that? And what else do I need to transfer to make the switch between computers seamless?
Another thing is: How do I know which model I downloaded? Say, I work on this, and then I want to download the model again, Is there a record somewhere that tells me what I downloaded? When I go to “Entity info” it does not tell me what the file or collection was that I took that from. Did I miss that?
And finally, I saw some collections in the warehouse that seemed to have a lot of different cabinets (in this case), which I thought I could use. But then it loaded the whole “collection” into my model, and I can’t figure out how to break that up into the individual pieces (as I am not going to need all). “Explode” didn’t work. So how do I load a collection of multiple items into sketchup and then select a single item to use?

Thanks.

Where did you save the cabinet model to? Where did you open it from? If you opened it from the location you saved it to, any changes you made prior to saving should be visible when you open it.