Hoary old questions

I am not new to 2D drafting, or to computers. I am new to SketchUp and to Forums - finding how to post this was a struggle. First - my thanks to any one who responds. Then - what I am sure is a hoary old question. And, related to this, what’s the best way to find answers to hoary old questions, such as mine, without bothering experts for the nth time? A sort of internal version of Google might answer all my prayers.

Finally getting to the point - how do I print a good (smooth) cylinder? That SketchUp works with inscribed polygons and not with circles is severely testing my ingenuity at both the modelling and printing stages…

Hi @warthog1, welcome to forums.
You can search for your questions/issues by clicking the ‘magnifying glass’ at top right:

For example searching lead me to this topic where you can find your answer:

1 Like

I don’t think you need to worry about this too much on this forum.

There are a lot of good examples of the same questions sparking a variety of different discussions. Sure the core answers don’t fluctuate by much, but the surrounding conversations often do.

But more importantly, having the same questions pop up allows new users to have a chance at answering the old classics for themselves (and for their first time). And there is great value to be found in being able to share your solution with others when your just learning the subject for yourself… Something cementing starts to happen when you have to take what you know how to do, and commit it into words for the benefit of others.

4 Likes

Immediately after you select the Arc tool, Circle tool or the Polygon tool, stop.
Look to the Measurements Box at the lower right-hand corner of your screen.

Notice that it now is labeled Sides.
The default number of sides for a Circle in SketchUp is 24.
The default number of sides for an Arc in SketchUp is 12.
The default number of sides for a Polygon is 6.

If you wish to change the number of sides…