Help with the Drape tool

Hi all, I am having an issue with the drape tool. I am trying to use it to create a foot path over 3d terrain and for some reason when I drape the shape over the terrain it does not create a separate face for selection/coloring. The object appears to be closed and has a face, and I have had success using the drape tool in the past so I am not sure why this time is different.

How about sharing the SKP file so we can see what you’re working with?

It is too large to upload otherwise I would. Is there another way to share it? It is the north portion of a golf course.

Copy out that part of the model and paste it into a new file. Or upload the file to Drop Box and share the link.

Footpath.skp (20.4 KB)

Where’s the terrain you’re trying to drape it onto?

You turn on hidden geometry and then select the region of the terrain around where this path should get draped and copy that.

I don’t know how to do that, I am a super-beginner here so I apologize.

I can only select the entire terrain or none of it.

Component_5 (Terrain).skp (3.2 MB)

I think this is what you are looking for right?

That worked.

So here’s what you get with Drape.

The Drape tool drapes the edges of the you path onto the terrain surface and divides the surface you you can apply a separate material to the path.

If you don’t want the path to be part of the terrain geometry, you could extrude the shape of the path through the terrain (make sure the terrain is grouped, first) and use Intersect Faces>With Model.

Then erase everything but the intersection edges. You won’t have surfaces to paint though. There are ways of dealing with that but not knowing exactly what you do want, I won’t go into those details now. I don’t want to make your head explode.

Thank you for that, I do need to be able to paint it though.

Why doesn’t Drape work for you? It’ll let you paint the path separately from the terrain.