Help! - Hiding 1 tag (layer) also hides geometry which is assigned to another tag

Hello SketchUp community!

This is my first ever thread so I might not be 100% spot on with the terminology but the issue that I have is that I am reorganising the groups & components in my model and I have a group assigned to the tag called ‘music avenue walls’ and another group assigned to the tag ‘elevator’.

When I turn off the visibility of the tag ‘music avenue walls’, nothing changes to the other group or tag. But when I turn off the visibility of the tag ‘elevator’, most of the geometry inside the ‘music avenue walls’ also becomes hidden, along with the ‘elevator’ group. I supposed there could be a group over both geometries, so I exploded them and regrouped separatedly. Same issue.
I read about shared layers - but I did not use them, as I am not really sure what’s the deal with them.

Can I solve this using Outliner? I am just learning about the feature. I don’t understand how these separated groups on their separate layers got connected. Is it a bug or did I mess something up? Thank you for your time!

Sounds like the content of one group has been tagged with the tag intended for the other group. Make sure the active tag hasn’t changed from Untagged.

1 Like

Thank you so much, that was the issue indeed! So simple and yet I overlooked it, there was one surface tagged with the tag for the other group.

The forum won’t let a new member upload images or .skp files until they have had a few posts accepted (it’s that way to keep spam robots out). So, until you pass that mark we will have to discuss your issues with just words. It’s harder, particularly since as you note terminology may be unclear. Images and explicit work with a model is much easier!