Help figuring out model problem

Hello everyone. I am new to sketchup. I am trying to model a kitchen space. I managed to get the lower cabinets and countertop modeled. When I went to cut out the slot for the range, I managed to break some faces on both the countertop component and the cabinet component. I have managed to fix most of them but I have a some extra lines that are causing the entire cabinet outline to disappear when erased.

How can I correct the cabinet component so that I don’t loose it when erasing the between the break in the cabinets. See attached model?

Thank you,

Rick

Kitchen_Layout.skp (202.8 KB)

Are these the places where you were having issues?

55%20PM

There was a duplicated edge both inside and outside the top of the opening in the lower cabinets component. I deleted first the one loose in the model and then opened the component for edit and deleted the one inside. There was also an edge across the opening at floor level.

You had hidden all of the geometry inside the countertop component, making it invisible. I opened it for edit using the outliner, did an unhide all, and then deleted a strip that was crossing the opening at the outside wall.

Kitchen_Layout.skp (203.2 KB)

2 Likes

Yes those are the lines causing the problem. However I believe the countertop component is somehow attached to the lower cabinet component.

What leads you to believe that? It’s located next to it but isn’t attached in the model you posted. They are properly separate components.

not%20attached

I was able to delete the extra lines after I read your post. Thank you, But I still have a problem with what looks like double countertop elements. I am attaching a new file.

Kitchen_Layout_1.skp (200.4 KB)