Help creating complex/irregular faceted shapes

Hello everyone! I am relatively new to using sketchup and I’m having trouble finding a tutorial that really fits my needs. I work at a climbing gym and I’ve been dreaming up wall designs and wanted to be able to put them “on paper”. Below is a link to a virtual walk-through of a climbing gym with some amazing walls, the wall sections shown at 1:20 to 1:30 are of specific interest to me and I’d like to create something similar.

I am wondering if there is a tutorial that could teach me how to create features like these. I have watched videos on creating objects, like a dodecahedron, using native tools but I can’t find anything detailing the process of creating and combining more complex/irregular geometric shapes.

Thank you
~e

ps I’m also not sure what the proper terminology for what I’m trying to do. Most of my googling has yielded how to create complex curves and I need the walls to be flat/faceted. Thank you again for any help you can provide.

If Sandbox Tools is available in Make, you could draw on a horizontal plane, then rotate it upright.

Or use Vertex Tools plugin?

These examples (also from 1:20 through 1:30) are super easy to create with SketchUp. No need for extentions.
You must know some basic things about constraining where you draw and how to move vertices: along their own edges or the planes they are in. Make a start, a box attached to a wall (for example) and ask questions from there.
I’m on my phone but once on my Chromebook I’ll also create some wall.

1 Like

(@g.h.hubers = @Wo3Dan)

@campman, here’san example to create the basic shape:

Next step could be pulling vertices along the horizontal direction of their edges, adding shapes to the sides etc.

Thank you so much for your quick response and detailed example. I played around last night and created something fairly close to what I had originally envisioned, I attached the file below.