Group axis

Hello to all,

I am new to sketchup and have started using the program mainly to export my 3D files and then process them to render later with Vray or Enscape.
So I own all the programs, however I am having problems with the basic functions specifically in managing groups, elements and textures. As you can see from the attached image, after exporting my building from Archicad as a Sketchup file, importing it to Sketchup all groups or elements seem to have an “oblique” axis reference system. This causes me problems in both scaling and setting textures. Is there a method by which I can change on the whole model the axes and thus have each object “oriented” the right way. Why does something like this happen when importing from archicad?
Another question is about textures, how can you scale a texture applied to a column? Every time I click the column it seems as if I can change the texture of one side of the polygon and not the column as a whole.

To be known: I’m working on a Mac studio M2, with sketchup 2023 and updated vray & enscape

Thank you very much for your HELP!

screenshots.pdf (1.3 MB)

You can realign the group axes by opening the group for editing, right clicking on an axis line and choosing Place. The place the origin followed the red and then green axis.
group axis
If youare making components instead of groups you can either align the axes when you create the component or you can change the axes by right clicking on the component without opening it for editing.

1 Like

Hi DaveR, thank you very much for your fast answer. Does it mean that I have to do it manually for every group in the model? I have a whole building with 7 floors, with walls, facade, etc.
Isn’t there a method for doing it all at ones? as you can see in my attachment I have sooo much groups that changing each of them seems insane :frowning:
What about the colums and texture do you have any insides?

Thank you so much for your help!

Cheers