Grid for brickwall

Hello, another newcomer to Sketchup world here.
I started learning the app with one quite specific task in mind;
I need to make a layout and a plan for a large brick wall on a apartment house, using several types of bricks.
I got a 3d model of the house from the architects and have created the needed collection of bricks in right size and images of the real bricks as surfaces in Sketchup.
As the brickwall will have mortar seams there will be 1cm gaps naturally around these brick-objects.
What would be the easiest way to make those bricks be a certain distance away from each other?
Is it possible to make those bricks so that there is a invisible or transparent outline or offset around itself which is larger than the actual visible object inside?
There will be a couple of thousand bricks in the realized artpiece so I need a simple way to maintain the gaps.

Thanks and apologies if this kind of topic is already somewhere here. I could not find it.

You could include mortar on two sides of the bricks. for instance on all undersides and left sides…
Edit: like thisbrick with mortar.skp (79,3 KB)

Floor Generator plugin

or Skatter

//edit
The two, as well as others, may be options, but it depends on the desired result, and then the variant presented by @paul.millet, with the texture, may be more easier.

2 Likes

Hello, creating a texture is easier for such a thing. But in case you’d really want it to be in 3D, it’s pretty much similar to what I explained there :

Show us YOUR Quick Win - #38 by paul.millet

Except that you will first need to give a thickness to the plane and then push/pull down the area that represents the mortal instead of deleting the copied pattern.

If it sounds interesting to you I can capture a gif of it

Edit : oh well, @mihai.s 's plugin in way more effective ! Didn’t know about floor generator, I’ve got to get my hands on it !

1 Like

Are all of the bricks the same size?