Glued to components on the outside of a parent component, what are they actually glued to?

So (in laymen’s language, as a SketchUp user, I’m not a coder), what are these instances (the yellow rings) actually glued to when placing them from outside on face locations inside a parent component? See following screenshot:

The center cut off cube formerly filled the entire bounding box of the parent component.
The rings were placed from outside of the parent’s context:

• on red/blue front face location
  • on green/blue right side face location
  • on red/green top face location
  • on slanted purple face location

The the inner “cube” shape was then scaled down by 0.5 (in edit mode of the parent) to see the rings floating.
The colored lines are there just to keep track of what the original bounding box was when making further changes to see how this would affect the rings (like rotating the parent’s axes).

The file: B glue to component.skp (1.3 MB)

As far as I can see, the ‘rings’ (cylinders) have attached themselves to the position of the component faces before you scaled it down.

You have a very large number of copies of your coloured lines marking the old bounding box, and they are inside your component - so many, that before I opened Outliner, I couldn’t work out why i couldn’t delete any of them!
Confusing!

And the origin of your shrunk component is still at the origin of the original, though perhaps that is because the lines marking the old boundary are still there. Or did you Scale about centre?

If I start in a new drawing, copy and paste your Component as raw geometry, scale it back to 10m (so x2), and make it into a new component, then make a copy and paste one of the rings into the new drawing, when I drag the ring out from the Component Browser and Glue to Face on the component from outside, it scales up and down on the surface, with the component.
Glue to

[LATER EDIT]

Have just re-read your post more carefully. I can now reproduce what you see.