Gingerbread house: how to separate model into 2D components?

Hi

I’m pretty new to Sketchup, and I using it to create a pattern for a gingerbread house.

I got the idea from this website: http://hattifnatt.se/pepparkakshus/byggtips_01.html
(but he doesnt explain how to use Sketchup).

Now, I’ve figured out how to make the 3D model of the gingerbread house, but I’m stuck on how to get the different parts into separate components, then make them lie down flat so that I can print them out (as shown in the link above). The way it is described on the blog is that each part should be converted into a component (I’ve learned how to make a component and make a copy of it next to the model house, but from there on I’m stuck).

Can anyone help me, pretty please with sugar on top?

Thanks in advance!

Each wall should either be a component or a group. I do this sort of thing all the time and I use groups. When the walls are grouped, just “explode” the house by moving the walls away from each other, similar to an exploded view drawing that we have all seen when putting together WalMart bookcases. Highlight a wall, hover one side edge until you see the protractor, then rotate wall 90 degrees. Do for all wall making sure to move them about so that they don’t overlap. Next, use the move tool to place them all on one plane. Then use the TOP VIEW function to look down on the parts and arrange neatly for printing. If you need more description, let us know.

Looks like an interesting project – what material will you end up using?

In any case, there are two extensions that you might find helpful.

CLF Loose to Groups will turn loose geometry into groups. So the issue there might be manually detaching parts of your house from themselves to that this extension can automate group creation.