Getting started

I am a very very novice user who is just trying to get started. As my first task I wish to draw a side view diagram of a 2x4x80 inch metal box beam, locate 4-5/8 in dia holes in each end and transmit this diagram to another farmer so that he can determine if his plow assembly will attach to my plow.
I can start sketchup and draw a horizontal line but can’t seem to set the scale to inches. Where and how do you specify how long the line is? Given that the box beam is 80 inches long and the hole layout is 2x4 inches located 1&1/4 inches from each end it would be nice if I could show the detail of each end with a break in the middle of the beam.
I somehow thought this would be more intuitive, usually I can poke around a program and figure it out pretty quick but I’m obviously not that cleaver
Is there some place I can go to get some instruction and become orientated?
Thanks in advance.

Look at the videos in this playlist to get started:

The program really is simple and fairly intuitive. Just invest a bit of time and patience and I’m confident that you can model the example you described in short order. You can always come back to this forum with any questions about using the tools or various techniques to construct your models also.

Good luck.

1 Like

Don’t miss the Video Tutorials Playlists … especially the Toolbar Series

Thanks to you both. Will do.

@oldhorsefarmer
After re-reading your original post, I will try to specifically address your expressed concerns here:

1. Start by selecting the template that is most appropriate. Go to Window → Preferences → then choose the desired template. Once your preference has been saved in a skp file, SketchUp will always open with the same template unless you change it later. In the case you mentioned, you should probably choose either the Architectural Design Feet & Inches or the Construction Documentation Feet & Inches Template (or you may prefer the Simple Template Feet & Inches).