Geo-location - Add Location Not Creating Terrain Layer

I would like to create a model that is embedded in a specific terrain. (I am not a professional or making any money at this - I’m just a hobbyist with creative ideas to flesh out.)

I was looking at this old post: Making topography, and I saw the following statements:

Use the File > Geo-location > Add Location command, which allows you to identify a specific locale on Google Earth that you’d like to “bring in” to SU.

SU creates two new layers in your model, one called Google Earth Snapshot and the other called Google Earth Terrain. The former contains a flat photograph, like the view in Google Earth, painted on a face; the latter contains the same photo, except painted on a contoured surface (TIN) representing the actual topography. You can toggle the display between them by checking or unchecking File > Geo-location > Show Terrain, or you can control the layers directly through the Layers dialog.

When I open the Default Tray (I am using SU Make 2017) and look at the Layers, I see only Layer0 and “Location Snapshot”. Layer0 appears to be empty, and Location Snapshot does not contain any terrain/topographical information.

I would love to get this working, but I can’t really afford to put money into this right now. Any ideas?

If I remember correctly, after google stopped supplying the data the Terrain was dropped from the Make version.

1 Like

Box is correct. Terrain data and imagery is not included in SketchUp Make. You’d need Pro for that.

If you don’t want to spend any money for this, maybe you can find a survey document with contour lines. You could make a screen shot of it and import the image. Then you could trace the edges with the Line or Freehand tool to make contours as geometry.

That thing you reference is quite old because Google Earth hasn’t been used as a source of terrain data or imagery in 10 years or more.